I have started an interesting habit. To wake up, I watch tv. In watching tv, I have discovered something about myself, I am strangely addicted to Xena: Warrior Princess, and the funny thing is, I must have been born liking it because when I turned on the tv, it was on and my first thought was, "yay!" even though I had never seen it before.
I mean, what's not to like? As I switched on the tv, I watched as a scantily clad group of pretty women totally kicked the shit out of roman soldiers. And the best part was, each woman's eyebrows were perfectly contoured to her face, and each Amazon woman was very pretty... well, except for maybe Gabrielle, who could also use a more feminine haircut and costume.
But the thing I missed were the scars. Think about it. If a tribe of women were living together, it is VERY doubtful that there wouldn't be a daily nail scratching in mammaries "stay away from my man" Ricki Lake episode. There wasn't a scar on any of the women. If I was fighting a soldier (which, let's face it, isn't really me. I'm much more of a 'make love with a soldier' sort of girl) in that scandalous of an outfit and he had a huge fuckin sword, I probably wouldn't be exempt from maybe a few nicks here or there.
No, if I had produced/directed that show, I would have made all the women really pretty but with tattoos and giant ass war scars. Make them fucking hard ass warrior priestesses. YES. That would have been the best show EVER.
But I digress.
I'm officially old. I bought my first sweater set today. And I liked it.
I was at LB and I bought new pants and blouses and even my very first grey suit. Yay. But I was looking and I saw a peach lacy sweater and a matching sweater cami. The first thought in my head was "Oooo! That would be so pretty with a nice set of slacks and a pearl necklace!"
The transformation is now complete. I'm a working woman who likes sweater sets. Yuck. Who did this to me? I'm rather angry about it. I do not want to turn 40 tomorrow. I hate that I love my new sweater set. Grrrrrr.
Anyway, I bought a lot of jewel tone blouses. So pretty. I bought one in pink/red with rouching on the buttons, one in aquamarine in hope that Spring comes soon, one in sky blue that goes so well with my grey suit and another in a pretty color I like to call Creamscicle. I bought a new watch and a pair of sunglasses so I can drive on time and not die (which, you have to admit, is helpful). So I'm all geared up for work tomorrow, it's Girls Day (which basically means the boss isn't there), and I'm excited for work. It's such a different dynamic when he's gone.
I'm kind of a big deal. You may not know this, but people know me. I'm very important. I have many leather-bound books and my apartment smells of rich mahogany. Apples make me nervous. Actually, I'm always nervous. I just blame fruit. I'm a nerd. But I go to the mall, wear makeup and own too many shoes. I write, I sing, I act. I have training that allows me to perform any number of soliloquies on cue, like some sort of Shakespearean bitch monkey. If that's not enough for you, I shower. Daily.
16 March 2006
12 March 2006
Ja Deutschland!
Mark: JENNI!
Jennifer: JA?
Mark: Wie gehts, schatz? Ist alles ok bei dir?
Jennifer: Ich bin ein schatz? So Suess!
Mark: ;) It's just 'cause you speak german; anyone who speaks german is a treasure.
Jennifer: Ich bin froh, dass es mir jetzt gut geht. Mir war angst und bange.
Ich musste mich heftig uebergeben... mir rutschte das Herz die Hose!
Mark: Na klar!
JAch! Das Reimwort!
Mark: ^_^ Verstehen. Vieleicht du solltest arbeit finden?
Jennifer: ::lachen:: Verstehst du, Arbeit ist nicht so leicht zu finden.
Mark: Stimmt.
Jennifer: und ich habe doch ungesund
Mark: Aber, wann mann sücht für Arbeit, es ist wie Arbeit ;)
Jennifer: Ich muss schade warten
Mark: Alles klar. Okay ;)
Jennifer: deppert buchstabierender Abweg
Mark: Awah?
Jennifer: DEPPERT = stupid
Mark: Und wie ^_^
Jennifer: deppert is Austrian slang
Mark: Ach so! Das Schliesst alles ein.
Jennifer: ist nicht Hoch Deutsch
Mark: Schade Frau Klouse!
Jennifer: Schäm mich!
Mark: Schäm!
Jennifer: ::lachen:: Schieb mir nicht die Schuld in die Schuhe
(don't lay the blame on me!)
Mark: Nie!
Jennifer: Doch! Du hast deine Finger auf mir!
Mark: Nie wieder! Du bist nie mal schuld! Es ist kein möglichkeit!
Jennifer: Nein, so was! Luegner!
Mark: Was? Ich bin deutsch! Deutscher kann niemals Lügner sein!
Jennifer: Ja, wir sind zu Froh!
Mark: ;)
Jennifer: JA?
Mark: Wie gehts, schatz? Ist alles ok bei dir?
Jennifer: Ich bin ein schatz? So Suess!
Mark: ;) It's just 'cause you speak german; anyone who speaks german is a treasure.
Jennifer: Ich bin froh, dass es mir jetzt gut geht. Mir war angst und bange.
Ich musste mich heftig uebergeben... mir rutschte das Herz die Hose!
Mark: Na klar!
JAch! Das Reimwort!
Mark: ^_^ Verstehen. Vieleicht du solltest arbeit finden?
Jennifer: ::lachen:: Verstehst du, Arbeit ist nicht so leicht zu finden.
Mark: Stimmt.
Jennifer: und ich habe doch ungesund
Mark: Aber, wann mann sücht für Arbeit, es ist wie Arbeit ;)
Jennifer: Ich muss schade warten
Mark: Alles klar. Okay ;)
Jennifer: deppert buchstabierender Abweg
Mark: Awah?
Jennifer: DEPPERT = stupid
Mark: Und wie ^_^
Jennifer: deppert is Austrian slang
Mark: Ach so! Das Schliesst alles ein.
Jennifer: ist nicht Hoch Deutsch
Mark: Schade Frau Klouse!
Jennifer: Schäm mich!
Mark: Schäm!
Jennifer: ::lachen:: Schieb mir nicht die Schuld in die Schuhe
(don't lay the blame on me!)
Mark: Nie!
Jennifer: Doch! Du hast deine Finger auf mir!
Mark: Nie wieder! Du bist nie mal schuld! Es ist kein möglichkeit!
Jennifer: Nein, so was! Luegner!
Mark: Was? Ich bin deutsch! Deutscher kann niemals Lügner sein!
Jennifer: Ja, wir sind zu Froh!
Mark: ;)
04 January 2006
La Vie Complet
My brother bought me SeaQuest DSV on DVD for my birthday and I can now die a happy woman. The show itself is quite laughable in regards to military proceedure, etiquette and protocol, but is otherwise very entertaining. Or quite possibly it is very entertaining because it is so laughable. I find myself constantly thinking, "Get a haircut, soldier!", "That's not regulation!" or "Address your commanding officer while on the deck, not by his name, but by his rank!"
Actually, I also find myself ridiculous. This was a show that I loved when I was in 6th grade or so. And it still makes me happy. Perhaps it is the chance to see a child star talking to us from the grave. Sad sad business.
But in other news, I get to go and hang out with the cast of Mama Mia! tonight at Dempsey's. It is karaoke night, and I promise not to sing Madonna again. That last debacle was enough for me.
Actually, I also find myself ridiculous. This was a show that I loved when I was in 6th grade or so. And it still makes me happy. Perhaps it is the chance to see a child star talking to us from the grave. Sad sad business.
But in other news, I get to go and hang out with the cast of Mama Mia! tonight at Dempsey's. It is karaoke night, and I promise not to sing Madonna again. That last debacle was enough for me.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)